25 views
As salamualaikum muftisahab,
How much of alcohol is permissible in food and medicine.
Recently i came across an article which says most of the companies use alcohol in their icecreams.
especially vanilla icecream. Though some companies use 0.5_ 1% in thier icecreams  and some use less or more.
can you please guide me.
All vanilla icecreams use alcohol to get the vanilla extract from its beans.
Umme Nabeel USA
asked Jul 4 in Eating & Drinking by azhad1

1 Answer

Ref. No. 985/4-140

In the name of Allah the most Gracious the most Merciful

The answer to your question is as follow:

Nowadays the alcohol used in edibles and medicines is generally made of vegetables, wheat, beans and coils etc. Such alcohol is pure and Halal. Similarlyaccording to our knowledge, the alcohol used to get the vanilla extract from its bean is not made of grapes, dates or raisins but it is made of vegetables thus it is pure and Halal. Nevertheless, if you ever come across an edible object that contains alcohol made of grapes etc. then it is impure and Haram even a drop of it.   

And Allah knows best

Darul Ifta

Darul Uloom Waqf Deoband

answered Jul 9 by Darul Ifta
...